Planning a Trip

20120811_203657-1I have lived in the United States for 17 years, and not once, in that time, have I ever been back to China. When I was 12, I received a letter in the mail inviting me to got back to China with a group of girls from my providence through LifeLink, the adoption agency my mother went through to adopt me. It was not meant to be. The next opportunity would not present itself until I reached college age. In the school of business, a trip to China is incorporated into an upper level class only offered to juniors and seniors. The class focuses on foreign business and policies. This was the opportunity I was waiting for.

My knowledge of Chinese culture and history is very limited, and the fact that I cannot speak the language just makes it that much harder to plan a trip. I was and still am apprehensive about going back, but I want to go. Part of me wonders if the Chinese citizens will accept me or see me as a disappointment. I chose to go on the trip partly because of safety. Safety is a big issue for me, and I did not want to go alone not knowing what to do. With this class trip, I will be closer to my birth place than I have ever been. Even though, I will not get to see my providence, but I am super excited to be apart of this trip. What makes this trip extra special is the fact that my friend Catherine, another Chinese adoptee, will be attending this trip with me. The set day for the departure is May 11 , a week after my exams. This trip is sure to be an educational and personal experience for me.

6 thoughts on “Planning a Trip

  1. Very late to this party, but how was the trip? I enjoyed my recent trip in China (Wuhan and Guangzhou) very much. I found the Chinese people we met to be very friendly and likable. The food was generally delicious (I would like to go back to Wuhan just for the meatballs and doupi). I found my poor Mandarin to be a hindrance but not a killer as our guides (of course) spoke fluent Chinese and many Chinese, especially younger ones, speak at least a little.

    • The trip was definitely a learning experience I will never forget. I will try to post in the next two weeks about my trip and what I learned.

      • I look forward to it. It will be many years before it’s an issue, but how important would you say it is for an adoptee to go on a “heritage tour”?

  2. The “heritage tour” is not necessarily vital, however, I believe that the majority of adoptees would like to make a pilgrimage back, sometime in their lifetime, to get a deeper understanding of their past. For those few that do not make it back to their roots or choose not to return, the idea will be nothing but a thought that sprouts once in a while at the forefront of their minds. In short, it is up to the individual adoptee to choose whether or not they want to pursuit such a course.

    • Dear Jim R. and to all of the other followers,
      I apology for not writing more on my blog lately. I had planed to post a blog about my trip to China and have not gotten around to it, so I am sorry if any of you have been looking for it. I am graduating very soon and have been slightly busy figuring out things..
      If you can be patient with me a little bit longer, I promise I will post soon. I have some new ideas that have popped up including a new Chinese adoptee I met. I will talk more about that later.
      Sincerely,
      kelseem

Leave a Reply

